Marie Clay Literacy Trust Travel Award

The very generous Marie Clay Literacy Trust provides two grants of $5000 each for a New Zealand educator to attend an overseas Literacy Conference in 2018. Please promote these awards to your members. Applications close on Friday 22nd September. Full details are attached and available on the NZLA website.

Closed for 2018

Marie Clay Literacy Trust Travel Award    $5000     TWO Awards for 2018

The New Zealand Literacy Association is pleased to announce the availability of TWO international literacy awards for 2017. Both awards, supported by The Marie Clay Literacy Trust, will allow for a New Zealand educator to attend an overseas Literacy Conference in 2018.

Applicants should apply in writing and include the following:

  • details of the conference
  • reasons for wanting to attend
  • proposed personal professional development benefits
  • a brief summary that includes some of the following; leadership within the school/institution, recent extra study in literacy, demonstrated/acknowledged success in the literacy field and leadership in a wider educational setting.

All applications should be accompanied by a statement/s of attestation of the above and a letter from the president of your local council verifying current individual NZLA membership. The successful applicant will be expected to publish a report in Literacy Forum NZ. The award may be used for airfares, conference registration and accommodation.

Applications should be addressed to International Conference Travel Award 2017, c/o Glenice Andrews, President NZLA, 1A Shoemaker Road, Waipu, 0510 OR

The closing date for applications is Friday 22nd September 2017. Applicants will be advised of the outcome before Monday 16th October 2017.

The Trust will not engage in any correspondence.

Travel award Winners $5000 per recipient

2017    Helen Brunner  &  Jenny Reichenbach

2016    Judy Aitken & Heather McQuillan

2015    Christine Donnelly & Heather Hardy

2014    Mal Thompson & Moira Newton

2013    Gayl Squires & Sue Bridges

2012    Jane Carroll & Joan Gibbons