NZLA Previous Conferences

New Zealand Conferences

Conference Year Host Location Theme
45th NZ Conference 2023 Southland Invercargill Lighting the Literacy Pathway
44th NZ Conference 2022 Auckland Auckland Our Voices Our Story – Literacies with differing perspecting and contexts
43rd NZ Conference 2021 Hawkes Bay Havelock North Mai te Maunga ki te Moana
42nd NZ Conference 2019 Canterbury Christchurch The Arts as a Bridge to Literacy
41st NZ Conference 2018 Manawatu Palmerston North Literacy Landscapes
40th NZ Conference 2017 Waikato Ham-Well-Chch The Power of Words
39th NZ Conference 2016 Tai Tokerau Waitangi Navigating the Literseas
38th NZ Conference 2015 Wellington Wellington WOW – Words on Wellington
37th NZ Conference 2014 Tauranga Tauranga Surfing the Literacy Wave
36th NZ Conference 2013 Auckland Auckland Sailing from Reading to Literacy
35th NZ Conference 2012 Hawkes Bay Hastings Reading Between the Vines
34th NZ Conference 2011 Bay of Plenty Rotorua A Literacy Explosion
33rd NZ Conference 2009 Otago Queenstown Literacy, a remarkable adventure
32nd NZ Conference 2008 Waikato Hamilton Bridges to Literacy
31st NZ Conference 2007 Taranaki New Plymouth Nga Taonga – From the mountain to the sea
30th NZ Conference 2006 Tai Tokerau Bay of Islands Nga Kete – Focused teaching, focused learning
29 NZ Conference 2005 Southland Invercargill Across the Border – your passport to literacy
28th NZ Conference 2004 Manawatu Palmerston North Magic of Literacy
27th NZ Conference 2003 Wellington Wellington From Mansfield to Middle Earth
26th NZ Conference 2002 Canterbury Christchurch Open the Other Eye and Read
25th NZ Conference 2001 Nelson Nelson Celebrating 25 Years
24th NZ Conference 1999 Otago Dunedin Something to Crow About
23rd NZ Conference 1998 Waikato/Bay of Plenty Hamilton Literacy: The Heart of Learning
22nd NZ Conference 1996 Taranaki New Plymouth Literacy for Lifelong Learning
21st NZ Conference 1995 Southland Invercargill Reading – the Key
20th NZ Conference 1994 Auckland Auckland On Being Literate
19th NZ Conference 1993 Canterbury Christchurch Readers and Writers Towards 2000
18th NZ Conference 1992 Wellington Trentham Getting the Message
17th NZ Conference 1990 Manawatu Palmerston North Nurture the Culture
16th NZ Conference 1989 Otago Dunedin Reading to Learn
15th NZ Conference 1987 Waikato Hamilton The Wonder of Words
14th NZ Conference 1985 Wellington, Canterbury & Nelson combined Nelson The Common Experience: A Team Effort
13th NZ Conference 1984 Wanganui Wanganui Reading Towards Tomorrow
12th NZ Conference 1982 Canterbury Christchurch Reading by all means
Regional Conference 1981 Bay of Plenty Rotorua Literacy in the Eighties
Regional Conference 1981 Hawkes Bay Taradale Reading: A Family Affair
Regional Conference 1981 Otago Dunedin Readers by Reading
11th NZ Conference 1980 Wellington Heretaunga Reading ’80
10th NZ Conference 1979 Auckland Auckland Reading: The Great Expectation
9th NZ Conference 1978 Otago Dunedin Understanding Reading: Reading to Understand
8th NZ Conference 1977 Manawatu Palmerston North Reading Through Process and Success
7th NZ Conference 1976 Southland Queenstown Reading Through Children’s Literature
6th NZ Conference 1975 Waikato Hamilton The Need is to Read
5th NZ Conference 1974 Canterbury Christchurch New Directions for Teaching Reading
4th NZ Conference 1973 Wellington Wellington Reading is Everyone’s Business
3rd NZ Conference 1972 Auckland Auckland Reading: Books and Children
2nd NZ Conference 1971 Auckland Auckland Reading: A Local and International Challenge
1st NZ Conference 1970 Auckland Auckland